8th Std H2 Notes

Information's | Sunday, 25 April 2021


by Veeresh. P



    I. Fill in the blanks:

1.  Geographically, India is a ___________

2.  Signs of ashes have been found in caves of ___________

3.      The implements of the Middle Stone Age are called   _

Ans: (1) sub continent and a peninsula, (2) Kurnool, (3) delicate stone implements.


II. Answer the following questions in brief:

1. Describe briefly the geographical features of India.

Ans: The geographical features of India are (a) Himalayan range- The Himalayas help to preserve the safety of India. (b) The flat Indo-Gangetic plains are an extremely fertile area. The ancient Indus Valley civilizations and Vedic period flourished here. (c) The Deccan Plateau in the South- The Narmada River separates India into two plateaus, Malwa, and Deccan. (d) The Coastal region- The Indian coastline is vast and stretches over 6,100 kms. The numerous ports on this coastline had attracted the Romans from time immemorial to have sea trade with India.

2.  What are the valleys through which the attacks on India have taken place?

Ans: Bolan and Khyber passes in the Himalayas are the valleys through attacks on India have taken place.

3.  What is meant by 'Prehistoric Age'?

Ans: The period before the discovery of the art of writing is called 'Prehistoric Age'. We do not find evidence to the linguistic development or the use of script of this age.

4.  How did animal husbandry and dairy farming evolve?

Ans: It is believed those 12,000 years ago, the earth's temperature began to gradually increase due to major change in the world's environment. This led to the development of grasslands in many places. Birds and animals began to multiply in unprecedented numbers. Man began to observe their nature, food habits and
the way they multiplied. This was the way the practices of
animal husbandry and dairy farming began.

5.  The different periods of prehistory have been given
various names by archaeologists. What are they?

Ans: The period of prehistory has been divided into three stages. (a) Old Stone Age, (b) Middle Stone Age and (c) New Stone Age. The Old Stone Age stretched over a period of 12,000 years. This long duration has been divided into three stages called the Early, Middle and Late Old Stone Age.


Next Post »

No comments:

Post a Comment

Copyright © Information's. All rights reserved.