9th PS2 eng mdm Notes

Information's | Wednesday, 28 April 2021

 9th Standard Notes

                           By VEERESHI P ARAKERI



I. Fill in the blanks with suitable words: 

1. India is a Union of __________ 

2. The Union Legislature is called _________

3. The Chairman of the Rajya Sabha is the _________

4. One has to complete ________ years to become a member of the Lok Sabha. 

5. The Commander-in-Chief of the three Armed Forces is the _________

6. The process for electing the President is explained under Articles _________and _________ of the Constitution. 

7 _________ nominates the Chairman of the Union Public Service Commission. 

8. The Supreme Court came into existence on _________

Ans: (1) States, (2) Parliment, (3) Vice President, (4) 25 years, (5) President, (6) 54, 55 , (7) President, (8) 28th Jan 1950. 

II. Answer the following questions: 

1. Name the two Houses of the Parliament. 

Ans: The two houses of the Parliament are 1) Lower House or the Lok Sabha, 2) Upper House or the Rajya Sabha. 

2. Explain the composition of the Rajya Sabha. 

Ans: The Rajya Sabha or the Upper House is a permanent body and is not dissolved like Loka Sabha. It consists of 250 members. 238 members are elected by the members of the State Assemblies and Union Territories. The remaining] 2 members, who are experts from various fields like literature, art, science and social work, are nominated by the President. This House is also known as the House of Elders. The term of the members is six years. The Vice President is the Chairman and the Deputy Speaker is chosen from among the members.

2. What are the qualifications needed to become a member of the Lok Sabha? 

Ans: The qualifications needed to become a member of the Lok Sabha are as follows: 

He/She (1) should be a citizen of India. 

(2) must not be less than 25 years. 

(3) should not hold any office of profit under the Government. 

(4) should not be a person of unsound mind. 

(5) should not have been punished under law. 

(6) should possess qualifications as specified by Parliament from time to time. 

4. Explain the election process for the post of President. 

Ans: The President is elected by an electoral college of elected members of both Houses of Parliament, all elected members of the legislative assemblies of all States, New Delhi and Pondicherry. The Supreme Court judge administers him his oath of office. His term of office is five years. He is eligible for re election. When he goes against the Constitution, he can be removed from office by the Parliament through a Motion of Impeachment. 

5. List the powers of the Prime Minister. 

Ans: The powers of the Prime Minister can be listed as mentioned below: 

(1) Appointment and removal of Ministers, and allocation of Departments. 

(2) He is the Head of Government and 

(3) He is head of Union Cabinet.

6. Explain the composition of the Union Cabinet and its responsibilities. 

Ans: Composition: The Union Cabinet is the real Executive and has Ministers in two hierarehies. The first one is the cabinet level and the second is the Minister of State. The maximum strength of the Union Cabinet is 15 of the total strength of the parliament Responsibilities: The Cabinet has two kinds of responsibilities. The Minister of eve I)' department is responsible for the administration of his department. He has individual responsibility for the success or failure of his department. The Union Cabinet has collective responsibility to the Parliament 

with regard to the decisions and policies taken by it. Therefore, the cabinet can be in power only as long as it enjoys the trust of the Parliament. When it loses the trust, it has to be removed by a No-Confidence Motion. 

7. How are the judges of the Supreme Court nominated and what are their qualifications?

Ans: The President nominates the Chief Justice and the other  judges of the Supreme Court. The qualifications of the Supreme Court judge are - he 

(1) should be a citizen of India. 

(2) should have served as a High Court for at least five years, or should have been an advocate of the High Court for at least ten years. 

(3) should be a distinguished jurist.

8. What are the functions of the High Court?

Ans: The functions of the High Court are as follows: 

(1) It takes up civil and criminal disputes, marital relationships, contempt of court etc.

(2) It admits appeals in civil and criminal cases from the subordinate courts.

(3) It directs transfer of cases from the lower courts to the High Court, to supervise the working of the subordinate courts, to admit writ petitions to safeguard the Fundamental Rights and other legal rights of citizens.

Next Post »

No comments:

Post a Comment

Copyright © Information's. All rights reserved.